Expanding the Genesis Hermeneutic


As I mentioned earlier, I’m watching the Olympics and so I won’t be blogging too much. But I will still try to make some new posts.

Peter Enns writes the following in relation to the conquest narratives:

It is not at all clear that these biblical stories were even written to depict “what God did.” […] The conquest stories are symbolic narratives that point to a theological truth” (source).

(HT: Steve Hays)

Notice that this is the same approach so many take on Genesis. Argue from the fact that the text has a theological claim in mind to the conclusion that the events probably never happened or at least probably never happened the way described. Apparently, we are to assume God is incapable or uninterested in actually creating history with theological significance.

Expanding the “Genesis hermeneutic” is inevitable (for most) because it’s such a convenient tool.

About The Janitor

I like to clean windows, scrub toilets, and mop floors. I don't mind washing dishes, but I hate drying them. I like arranging forks and counting nickles, mainly because counting by fives is so easy. However, I find counting by three to be the easiest in real-life situations. It's easiest in terms of being able to quickly spot groups of three and also in terms of having a manageable pattern: 3, 6, 9 as opposed to 6, 12, 18, for example. I don't like to wear gym shoes, although when I do wear gym shoes they always white. The only persons who should be wearing black gym shoes are basketball referees. I have nothing to say about gym shoes that come in colors other than white or black. They don't exist as far as I'm concerned. I can't seem to wear sunscreen without it turning my skin an odd pale or purple color. I'm not sure if this has something to do with my skin-tone or if this is true of everyone and I just never notice it. I have a dog named Anscombe, after Gertrude Elizabeth Margaret Anscombe. Have you ever noticed that when you are passing someone on the interstate they tend to speed up slightly? I think this is a sub-conscious act rather than deliberate jerky. But further research should be done.
This entry was posted in Christianity and Science, Theology and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

